Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Book Review: Burning Proof by Janice Cantore (Cold Case Justice, Book 2)

Title: Burning Proof



Series Title: Cold Case Justice (Book 2)


Genre: Christian Suspense/Crime


Date Published: March 1, 2016


Author: Janice Cantore

Why I Read This Book: I received the first book in this series from the publisher for review a few years ago and I loved it (see my review here). I have wanted to read the second in the series for a while now.





About the Book (from Goodreads):  

After months of investigating the brutal homicide of a young girl, Detective Abby Hart finally has the evidence she needs. But when the arrest goes terribly wrong, Abby begins to doubt her future as a police officer. As she wrestles with conflicting emotions, old questions about the fire that took her parents’ lives come back to haunt her. [Note: synopsis shortened as to not provide spoilers]

Review


One of the things that I love the most about Janice Cantore is that she not only writes suspenseful, action-packed crime novels, but that I leave them with a sense of peace and understanding. 

For a long time, I let PTSD from child molestation rule my life by thinking of myself only as a victim. I had nightmares and flashbacks that ruined a good day. After I gave everything to God and let Him reign in my life, I found freedom and I found peace. These same feelings of freedom and peace came back to me as I read this beautiful novel. Cantore encourages readers to not let difficult circumstances define your life and that even if God delays in answering your prayers, it is because He has a greater plan and a greater purpose, one that is larger than anything you could ever imagine. 

This series of books is not just an inspirational series and it is not just a crime novel, it is so much more.

Final Statements


Recommended Reading Age: 16+ for intense scenes


Overall Rating: 5/5

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon Update Post (April 2017)


Hello everyone! It's that time of year again; Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon is starting now! If you follow me on twitter (@blog_gal) you know that I'm super excited about this read-a-thon, as always.


Mostly, I will be putting my updates on Twitter, but occasionally, I will come back here for a Mini Challenge and also update my reading status.


Are you joining in on the readathon fun? What does your TBR look like?



Opening Meme


1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Texas :) My first year participating from Texas. Had to get up an hour earlier, but it was worth it.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

Burning Proof by Janice Cantore. It is the second book in a crime series. I just bought this book this week. 

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

Oreos. Chocolate is always good.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I am a Christian who loves blogging about books that are appropriate for all ages (no sex or foul language). Also, I am a forensic biologist who recently started her first crime lab job. Woot woot!

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?

I have done quite a few readathons at this point. Since I am finally at a M-F job, I have the weekends off and I am going to try to make it the whole 24 hours this year.

Mini Challenges


The blog Pirates and Pixie Dust hosted a challenge called "The Meet-Up" for hour 4 of the readathon. Here is my entry:



CR: Burning Proof/LR: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Detective Abby Hart was on the tails of the killer of a 10 year old girl. As she knocked on the door for the house of a suspect, she heard strange noises inside and realized she also smelled smoke. Abby knocked down the door to discover an unkempt fire had overtaken the fireplace in the suspects home. Abby followed the ashy trail that was coming from the fireplace and found a small grey serpent with glowing red eyes that she later learned was called a Ashwinder. Her suspect was a wizard and a fire left from floo powder had overtaken his home as he narrowly escaped Abby Hart.
The blog Estella's Revenge hosted a challenge called "Six Word Story" where you describe the readathon in six words. Here is my entry:
Celebrating reading and chatting with friends! 
 The blog Bart's Bookshelf hosted a challenge called "Show Me The Weather". Here is my entry:
A post shared by Jessica Bradley Barnes (@blog_gal) on

The Book Monsters hosted a challenge to post about your current read and snack. Here's my entry:
A post shared by Jessica Bradley Barnes (@blog_gal) on

Reading Women hosted the "Fur, Scales, and Stuffing: Readathon Companions" challenge where you post pictures of your favorite book about or by women alongside your favorite furbaby. Here is my entry:



Mid-Event Survey

1. What are you reading right now?
I was just listening to an audiobook, One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury.

2. How many books have you read so far?

Finished 3 (2 of which were graphic novels) and I've listened to some of an audiobook and read about half of Burning Proof  by Janice Cantore

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

Finishing Burning Proof

4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

Yes, audiobook multitasking.

5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

None. It has been great.

Closing Survey


Interesting Twitter/Instagram Posts

A post shared by Jessica Bradley Barnes (@blog_gal) on



Reading Progress and Book Thoughts

Hour 1 7 AM-7:59 AM
Read 21 pages of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and 6 pages of Burning Fire by Janice Cantore.

Hour 2 8 AM- 8:59 AM

Read 28 pages of Burning Fire by Janice Cantore.

Hour 3 9 AM- 9:59 AM

Read 35 pages of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and 11 pages of Burning Fire by Janice Cantore.

Hour 4 10 AM-10:59 PM
Read 12 pages of Burning Fire by Janice Cantore.

Hour 5 11 AM-11:59 AM

Read 21 pages of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and 28 pages of Burning Fire by Janice Cantore.

Continued an audiobook, One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury, that I started before the readathon while playing a video game (continued into hour 6).


Hour 6 12 PM- 12:59 PM

Continued an audiobook, One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury, that I started before the readathon while playing a video game (continued into hour 6) for a total of 77 minutes, approximately 28 pages.

Hours 7 1 PM -1:59 PM

Completed Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (31 pages). Started and completed Vol. 1 of Tiger & Bunny (153 pages).

Hour 8 2 PM-2:59 PM
Listened to 10 minutes (approx. 5 pages) of One Tuesday Morning. Started and completed vol. 2 of Tiger & Bunny (187 pages).

Hour 9 3 PM- 3:59 PM
Read 17 pages of Burning Proof.

Hour 10 4 PM- 4:59 PM
Read 64 pages of Burning Proof.

Hours 11-12 5 PM- 6:59 PM
Listened to a 67 minutes of One Tuesday Morning (about 20 pages).

Hour 13 7 PM-7:59 PM
Read 50 pages of Burning Proof.

Hour 14 8 PM-8:59 PM
Read 12 pages of Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt and DNF because of foul language.
Read 11 pages of The Car by Gary Paulsen.

Hour 15 9 PM-9:59 PM
Read 53 pages of Burning Proof.

Hour 16-17 10 PM- 11:59 PM
Finished Burning Proof (read the last 108 pages).

Hour 18 12 AM- 12:59 AM
Hour 19 1 AM- 1:59 AM
Hour 20 2 AM- 2:59 AM
Hour 21 3 AM- 3:59 AM
Hour 22 4 AM-4:59 AM
Hour 23 5 AM-5:59 AM
Hour 24 6 AM-6:59 AM

Overall Progress


  • Started and completed Burning Proof by Janice Cantore (375 pages).
  • Started and completed Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (108 pages).
  • Started and completed volumes 1 and 2 of Tiger and Bunny (340 pages total).
  • Listened to One Sunday Morning by Karen Kingsbury, started before the readathon (1 hour and 13 minutes, approx. 33 pages).
  • Read 12 pages of Two Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt and DNF because of foul language.
  • Read 11 pages of The Car by Gary Paulsen.

Total pages for RAT: 771

Total books completed during RAT: 3
Total books started and completed during the RAT: 3

Thursday, April 6, 2017

Book Review: Hatchet by Gary Paulsen

Title: Hatchet

Series Title: Brian's Saga (Book 1)


Author: Gary Paulsen

Genre: Young Adult Survival


Date Published: November 1, 1986


Why I Read This Book: My husband loved this book when he was younger. I remember reading it in elementary school, but I did not really enjoy it back then. I re-read this book to give it a second chance.





About the Book (from Goodreads):  


"Brian is on his way to Canada to visit his estranged father when the pilot of his small prop plane suffers a heart attack. Brian is forced to crash-land the plane in a lake--and finds himself stranded in the remote Canadian wilderness with only his clothing and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present before his departure..." [Note: synopsis shortened as to not provide spoilers]

Review


Survival books are always a good read. I love reading about unique ways to get out of sticky situations. 
Filled with adventure and adrenalin-pumping scenarios, Hatchet is no exception to this. Because of the various life-threatening events Brian encounters, he becomes a stronger young adult, both physically and emotionally, throughout the novel. Brian learns that in many situations a positive attitude and a thankful heart are essential for a positive outcome. Even though Hatchet was written over 30 years ago, it is still relatable and entertaining today. I would recommend this YA novel to any one, no matter the age, who is interested in survival shows such as Dual Survival.

Final Statements


Recommended Reading Age: Any Age


Overall Rating: 3.5/5

Monday, April 3, 2017

Note About Absence of Posts and the Future of this Blog

Recently, I have moved states in order to advance in my career as a forensic scientist and with this move I have not had much time for reading or blogging. I am now settled in my new job and hope to be posting regularly.

I also have exciting news! My husband has graciously decided to update my blog and it will be transitioning to a new website soon. Additionally, since my new job is M-F, I will be able to participate in Dewey's 24 hour readathon that is coming up later this month (check it out here). I am so excited to be able to read more and devote more time to blogging about said books.

Talk to ya'll again soon!

💜-Jessica

Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Update Post

Life. It's crazy sometimes, isn't it? I have been neglecting this blog for a while now, but I have some plans to get it going again. A have a few reviews I am planning on getting out this month, as well as some other posts related to readathons. I cannot wait for Dewey's 24 hour readathon that is coming up again soon! In short, I've been lacking in the blog department, but more content will be coming from me soon!

Chat with you then,
Jessica

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon (April 2016): Update Post


Hello everyone! It's that time of year again; Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon is starting now! If you follow me on twitter (@blog_gal) you know that I'm super excited about this read-a-thon, as always. 


Before the readathon, I have read 

Mostly, I will be putting my updates on Twitter, but occasionally, I will come back here for a Mini Challenge and also update my reading status.


Are you joining in on the readathon fun? What does your TBR look like?



Opening Meme


1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
The wonderful state of Georgia in the good 'ol United States

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
Probably finishing up Rachelle Dekker's The Calling

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I don't have any planned, but I always love my lunch/dinner at work: Salad and Soup from Olive Garden.

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I am a Christian who loves blogging about books that are appropriate for all ages (no sex or foul language). Also, I am a forensic biologist :)

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I have never readathon-ed on a day I work, much less a day where I work at least 10 hours since its a double. I will be juggling work and reading today.

Mini Challenges


Mid-Event Survey

Closing Survey

Reading Progress and Book Thoughts

Hour 1 8 AM-8:59 AM

27 pages of The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker

Hour 2 9 AM- 9:59 AM

82 pages of Fruits Basket (vol. 1, manga)

Hour 3 10 AM- 10:59 AM

Finished Fruits Basket (vol. 1)- 205 pages read this hour

Hour 4-14 11 AM-10 PM
~~Getting Read for Work, Commute, and Working~~
Plan: listen to audiobook while getting ready for work, commuting, and during lunch break

Hour 15 10 PM-10:59 PM

Hour 16 11 PM- 11:59 PM

Hours 17-22 12 AM-5:59AM
~~Sleep~~

Hour 23 6 AM-6:59 AM

Hour 24 7 AM-7:59 AM

Overall Progress


  • 247/434 pages of The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker (27 pages during RAT)
  • 205/205 pages of Fruits Basket (vol. 1)
  • 70/435 minutes (approx. 49/309 pages) of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Audiobook- 0 minutes (0 pages) during RAT


Total pages for RAT: 231
Total books completed during RAT: 1


Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon: TBR and Plans

Button made by: http://www.truebookaddict.com/
Here it comes again! Dewey's 24 Hour Readathon is THIS SATURDAY! Have you signed up yet? If not, you can sign up for the readathon here.

Today, I am going to talk about my reading goals for this readathon and show you my TBR grab pile. My reading goals are pretty light as compared to previous Dewey's readathons. I am going to be working from 12 (noon) EST to around 9 or 10 PM EST, so I am not sure how many hours of reading I will be able to get in. I hope to read before I go to work, during my lunch break, after I get off work for a few hours, and maybe I'll even wake up early and read before church since the readathon ends at 8 AM on Sunday for me. I am hoping to read at least 5 hours on Saturday/Sunday morning. 

I will be cheering fellow readers on Twitter using the hashtag (#readathon). I plan on tweeting throughout the readathon (when I am not at work) and updating my progress there. I do plan on having a progress post here on my blog, but I will not be able to update that as frequently. Additionally, I will be doing some of the hourly mini-challenges and you can find those updates on my blog and on twitter as well.

Since I won't be able to read much, my TBR is also a little light. I want to continue reading Rachelle Dekker's latest book, The Calling, a christian dystopian novel. Honestly, this book is so good that I may have finished it before Saturday, but we will see. I  also plan on starting the audiobook of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone this week and continue listening to it during the readathon. Most likely, this will be the book that I listen to when I have my lunch break at work. Lastly, I may start reading No One to Trust by Lynette Eason. This is a christian fiction novel mystery novel.

If you are signed up for the read-a-thon, what are your goals and what are you reading?  I would love to hear about your read-a-thon progress during and after the read-a-thon! Comment below or tweet me at @blog_gal.